What’s in a Name?

Beginning a blog implies that there is something that needs said.  Likewise one must infer that what is said has purpose, value, a weightiness that makes you the Dear Reader compelled to follow these words.

What is it then that I must tell you?  Who is it that I am? 

Why Pollinating Grace?

What is in a name?    

My name: Melisa Anne (Michael) Turner

Melisa…yes with just one “s” is Greek and means Honey Bee.

 Anne…meaning “Full of Grace”.

Honey Bees are very industrious.  They have a need to be about their purpose.  Driven to reach just one more flower that they might produce all they have been called to do!

Bees pollinate.  According to Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary “Pollination is required for fertilization and the production of seeds.”  We know that in time seeds grow into plants or trees that bear fruit.  It is my truest desire to live up to my name and Pollinate Grace, the Good News, in my own and other people’s lives.  So that in time that grace will grow up and produce lasting fruit, eternal fruit.

But thanks be to God, who made us his captives and leads us along in Christ’s triumphal procession. Now wherever we go he uses us to tell others about the Lord and to spread the Good News like a sweet perfume! ~ II Cor inthians 2:14 NLT

You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you to go and bear fruit – fruit that will last.  ~John 15:16a  

Michael…”Who is like the Lord?” 

And that is the question isn’t it?  Am I like the Lord?  Am I full of Grace?  What exactly am I pollinating in my own self and others?  Many times I am unsure.  But oh how I want to be like the Lord.  How I want to be full of grace, busily “beeing” all that my name implies. 

And so we come to the words of the Apostle Paul, seeking to do good for the sake of others, trying to follow the example of Christ.

Do not cause anyone to stumble, whether Jews, Greeks or the church of God—  even as I try to please everyone in every way. For I am not seeking my own good but the good of many, so that they may be saved.  Follow my example,as I follow the example of Christ                            ~ I Corinthians 10:32, 33 –11:1

And last, but certainly not least, comes Turner.  The name I have carried now some 20 years.

Turner…”One who works the lathe”.  Meaning the one who holds an object close to the One who sharpens and shapes.

As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another. ~ Proverbs 27:17

“In so much as anyone pushes you nearer to God, she is your truest friend.”  ~ Anonymous

…speak the truth in love and we will grow up in Christ  ~ Ephesians 4:15

Apparently there is a lot in a name.  God needed to spell it out for me.  Perhaps He does not need to be so obvious with you?  But, regardless, it is my hope that we will use this “Pollinating Grace” space to sharpen one another and to push one another closer to one who bears the greatest name…Jesus!

You should think in the same way Christ Jesus does.

 In his very nature he was God.
But he did not think that being equal with God was something he should hold on to.

Instead, he made himself nothing.
He took on the very nature of a servant.
He was made in human form. He appeared as a man.
He came down to the lowest level.

He obeyed God completely, even though it led to his death.
In fact, he died on a cross.

So God lifted him up to the highest place.
He gave him the name that is above every name.

When the name of Jesus is spoken, everyone’s knee will bow to worship him.
Every knee in heaven and on earth and under the earth will bow to worship him.
Everyone’s mouth will say that Jesus Christ is Lord.
And God the Father will receive the glory. ~ Philippians 2:5-11

 

www.blossomministries.com “Preparing Women to Bear Fruit”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What’s in a Name?

  1. AHHHH!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!! (Yes, I’m shouting!) I can’t wait for what comes next! 🙂

  2. Pat & Patti says:

    WOW! After coming to know the Lord some 34 plus years ago we believe that it is God who chooses our names, but this is incredible. It all fits so very nicely don’t you think? Thank You for doing the homework and figuring it all out for us. Now I want to take a closer look at our names too:-)

  3. Angeline Smith says:

    Melisa, you are beautiful in every way; you definitely have a beautiful gift of how you express yourself in writing and the spoken word. Your message flows so evenly and has tremendous meaning and connection. Your love for Chris-likeness is evident in all that you do. God has chosen you with a special ministry for women. We are blessed that God loves us so much that He provided us with you, our very own personal, spiritual communicator who deepens our devotional lives when you pass on to us your enlightenments. May God continue to bless you as you move forward on this.

    • turnermelisa says:

      Aunt Angie,
      You bless me!
      Thank you for all of your support and being my family.
      Melisa

      • mousehunter134@comcast.net says:

        It’s true and you are so welcome! I’ll stay tuned in! Hope you are off to a great start for the summer! Love you all, God Bless, Aunt Angie and Uncle Charlie.

  4. Pingback: Yes, it’s me! | pollinatinggrace

Leave a Reply

