Be Kind

spreadkindness.org

So do not grow weary in doing good.  ~ Galatians 6:9

This verse from Galatians seemed to bookend my last few weeks.  I often grow weary in doing good.  No matter how hard I try I don’t feel that I measure up to what others think I should do or be. This makes me feel like why bother?!  Perhaps this is because I am trying so very hard to measure up, to achieve success in service or ministry to others, to be what it is that I think others need from me.  When in all actuality, what people really need most from me shouldn’t have to be such hard work.

For example, offering kindness to my fellow human being.  This is a common courtesy and yet so often the farthest thing from my mind.  I may stop to notice another’s need but do I stop to think to simply offer a kind word, a smile or acceptance?

“But every contact with a human being should be one of goodwill and respect, with a readiness to acknowledge, make way for, or assist the other in suitable ways.” -Dallas Willard in Renovation of the Heart

…then you will truly be acting as children of the Most High, for he is kind to those who are unthankful and wicked.  You must be compassionate, just as your Father is compassionate.  ~ Luke 6:35-36

Every human being has received kindness from God.  We have all been made into His image and so deserve to be treated by one another as such.  Kindness is expected of us as Christ-like people!

Kind words are like honey – sweet to the soul and healthy for the body.
~ Proverbs 16:24

Do not withhold good from those who deserve it, when it is in your power to act.
~ Proverbs 3:27

Remember, it is sin to know what you ought to do and then not do it.  ~ James 4:17

We should look for ways to be intentionally kind.  The demands of service and accomplishment will automatically be met in kind acts and words.  We will not have to strive to achieve if we are looking for ways to be kind; for we will have intentionally lived like Jesus.

Then the way you live will always honor and please the Lord, and you will continually do good, kind things for others.  All the while, you will learn to know God better and better.  ~ Colossians 1:10

God…will not forget your work and the love you have shown him as you have helped his people.  ~ Hebrews 6:10

When I think that I have acted as God would have me act and know that He has remembered my kindness and help I can never grow weary in doing good!

Kindness is the language which the deaf can hear and the blind can see.  ~ Mark Twain

Have you been kind today?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Be Kind

  1. Such a great reminder! Kindness costs us nothing, but gives us such great rewards!

Leave a Reply

