Hide and Seek

globaltextiles

Last week I was fortunate enough to attend Lost Lake Kids Camp for the 2nd year in a row as a Counselor.

Kid’s camp is an opportunity to cut loose and be free. Even if what you do, say, or wear is weird this is just more entertainment for the kids. I took a bunch of silly hats and wore one almost every day. I took a costume to wear to the dress up dinner for our theme of Narnia, I was some kind of royal peacock person. Now tell me, where else can you go out dressed like that?

And for our traditional game of counselors hide in the woods and campers seek…I wore some camouflage I borrowed from a friend. Now the object of the game is obviously to not be found, this gives points to your cabin. You especially don’t want to be found by someone not in your cabin, then their cabin would get the points.

The exhilaration that comes from running thru the woods, desperately looking for a genius place to hide is hard to describe in words. There is a lot of pressure to win and to help out your cabin. It is also pure JOY. The whole experience drips with positive emotions.

But, then comes the waiting. The lying crooked in dirt and bugs for a very long time. You are cold on the ground side, and hot on the sun side. Things go to sleep, like entire limbs. You cannot scratch your nose, they will see you moving! After awhile I began to feel that maybe they were done seeking and the joke was on me.

I know the suspense is killing you so I will tell you that I won the game of hide and seek!

I was not found!

It took me 40 years to accomplish and I am not holding my breath to do it again in the near future but I have finally become COOL!

So many people were proud of me, my cabin of girls, my husband…he is blown away by my never before seen abilities…and I am proud of myself. Honestly, I need to begin to make this a matter of prayer, my ego is getting so large.

Even as I retell the story, my heart pumps in my chest and my smile cannot be contained. Good Memories!

Our speaker at camp was Mark Schaufler http://www.mstgo.com

One of our chapel sessions Mark taught out of Luke 19:1-10, the story of Zacchaeus. It says in verse 10 that “The Son of Man came to seek and save the lost”.

Jesus; the Son of Man, came to seek those who were lost that they might be found. He found that same excitement and joy that we experience in a simple game of hide and seek when each person was saved. He has commanded us to seek and save as well.

So you must go and make disciples of all nations. Baptize them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit. ~ Matthew 28:19

Lord Jesus help me to be compelled to seek and save with the same joy and exhilaration a child’s game can bring!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

