The Price of Love

care for your heart

“We can do not great things, only small things with great love.  What is important is not how much you do, but how much love you put into doing it.” ~ Mother Teresa

The Price of Love…this phrase has hovered over me this summer. Be it great things or small things or many, many small things that seem to add up to great things we count the cost in love.

These are some of the ways I have observed the Price of Love being paid…

…service to a family member who can no longer care for their home, so you now must sort, clean, decide!

….stopping to give a hug to a friend and losing your place in line to the only women’s restroom in church!

…packing lunches, again, I am serious, 2 days in a row! (Did school just start where you live? So then you understand)

… taking the courageous step to call a friend, to send a gift, to be vulnerable.

…following God’s call: to use your talents, to serve, to be a braver you.

In all these situations it is love that pushes us onward that offers us an opportunity to sacrifice.

I told my dear friend that lately I have been very aware of my boundaries. This is a sure sign that “I don’t have enough Jesus here (pointing at my chest) to deal with YOU! Not that “YOU” (whoever that might be at the time) are hard to deal with but I am not full of enough love.

…God is love. ~ I John 4:8 NCV

When I am full of Jesus I have enough love to give. I can make the sacrifice be it big or small and step back and smile knowing it was worth the cost. But, when I don’t have enough Jesus I will step back in resentment…on those days the price of love feels too high!

Don’t you know that you are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit lives in you?
~ I Corinthians 3:16 NCV

Jesus is always with me, the truth is I am not always with Him.

How can I ever have enough love so as not to always be counting the cost?

So brothers and sisters, since God has shown us great mercy, I beg you to offer your lives as a living sacrifice to him. ~ Romans 12:1 NCV

Make every effort to give yourself to God as the kind of person he will approve.
~ II Timothy 2:15 NCV

The price of love was worth any cost to our Heavenly Father. The price of love is more easily paid when we are with Jesus, not just doing for Jesus! The truest version of yourself and myself is the one who is the most like Jesus! Find yourself in Him and you will have an endless ability to pay the price of love.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

