I Cry Foul

justice_icon

Does anyone else possess an inner whistle?

You just cannot keep quiet in the face of injustice?

Lately mine has been going off at Basketball games…my mouth that is, not just my inner whistle. I cannot seem to keep my opinion on the lack of perceived injustice to myself.

Ahem…not a meek or demure bone in my body!

I am sure that this happens to me not only because of my big, opinionated mouth but also due to the fact that basketball games are played out on a proverbial stage within plain sight. The rules are known and it can easily be observed if the players and referees are conducting the game accordingly.

Recently I was unable to be quiet in the face of an intentional foul and much to my surprise the opposing coach and referee both narrowed in their focus on me as one individual member of the outraged crowd. Suddenly I had a choice, do I drop it or do I pursue this fight? Well I must tell you that I fought on! I had come to watch basketball not little girls being shoved to the floor, but I digress.

Several weeks later I am still mulling this over! Should I have been quiet? Should I have stopped discussing this issue once I was singled out in the crowd? I am really still unsure and a little chagrined at my behavior. On the other hand; I spoke truth, I did not use inappropriate language, and I did not call anyone a belittling name etc.

As chagrined as I do still feel, I wonder how bad I might feel had I said nothing at all? What if no one defended our girls?

In this situation it was “just a basketball game” but how often do I witness other kinds of injustice and say nothing?

If anyone, then, knows the good they ought to do

and doesn’t do it, it is sin for them.    

~ James 4:17

I am not excusing my behavior at the basketball game, but convicted by my lack of behavior in so many other instances that appear on the World’s Stage.

Hunger

Human Trafficking

Lack of available clean drinking water

Lack of educational opportunities

Children who lack a home or love and care

So many of these injustices are not played out in front of my proverbial bleachers and I do not always have a direct voice to intervene. But; we have established that, I do possess a voice and an inner whistle as a matter of fact I am using them both right now. It is one small thing I can do. I can agitate the waters of justice. I can stir up outrage over the lack of so many inequalities in our world. Someone reading this blog just may have a front row seat.

“…identify what you can do in your sphere of influence to raise awareness, agitate and train your community.” ~ Ruth Bruno, 8 Ways to Stop Human Trafficking in Our Own Backyard, Relevant Magazine

(Read more at http://www.relevantmagazine.com/reject-apathy/8-ways-stop-human-trafficking-our-own-backyard#wE91zeudyk0wQtoI.99 )

Or it could be said this way:

Learn to do right; seek justice.
Defend the oppressed.
Take up the cause of the fatherless;
plead the case of the widow. ~ Isaiah 1:17

Another way I am pursuing justice is by participating in World Vision’s 30 Hour Famine. Our church’s Youth Group is sponsoring a weekend of learning about hunger and water quality around the world, abstaining from eating food, and completing some service projects in our community. The youth are being sponsored and the monies raised go toward feeding 2 children in Ethiopia for one year.

http://youth.worldvision.org/index.cfm?fuseaction=donordrive.team&teamID=7811

He has shown you, O man, what is good;
And what does the LORD require of you
But to do justly, To love mercy,
And to walk humbly with your God?

~ Micah 6:8

Lastly, I can treat those I interact with on a daily basis in a just, kind and fair way.

Who is an at-risk person in your circle of influence? Look around I bet there is someone. Did you know that children with a void of love have a higher learning disability in school than those who face a language barrier?

Blessed are those who act justly,
who always do what is right. ~ Psalm 106:3

Lord, please use my big mouth for justice!

How will you blow your inner whistle?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

