How Can I Pray For You?

How can I pray for you?

This is the question I have begun to ask my children as they walk out the door each day to school?

These are some of the answers I get back:

“I have a test today.”

“My game is out of town.”

“Pray, I can get caught up in Science.”

Not one of these answers surprised me. I was aware of their needs, schedule, and projects. But, they didn’t know I was going to pray for them. Without my asking this simple question, they would not have known I was praying, supporting, or aware of their day’s demands.

I thank my God every time I remember you, always praying with joy for all of you. ~ Philippians 1:3-4 NCV

The other reason besides encouragement that I have begun to ask this question is that they might think to pray for themselves!

Always be joyful. Pray continually, and give thanks whatever happens. That is what God wants for you in Christ Jesus. ~ I Thessalonians 5:16-18 NCV

What if as my daughter sits down to yet another test she thinks to pray? How could that change the peace in her heart, the clarity in her memory, and the stress level she carries?

What if my son prays as he climbs the stairs to yet another long bus ride? What if it guards his heart and his mouth? Teenage boys on a sport’s bus…we should all be praying about that!

The relationship between me and my God is strengthened in prayer. He also already knows what I have need of, but I am still commanded to pray. Why? Because it encourages me and reminds me that He knows my needs.

If I want to encourage the same relationship in my children with the God who is also always available to them I have to show them. I must live out my prayer walk so that they have something to emulate.

Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” ~ Matthew 28:19 NIV

Jesus directs us to teach everything He has commanded us to do. In Mark 11 Jesus says “As you are praying” implying that we should be praying. If I am making disciples of my children then I must teach them to pray!

Who are you lifting in prayer today?

Have you told them?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

