Courage in the Storm

The Clipper Ship "Flying Cloud" off the Needles, Isle of Wight, 1859-1860

“I am not afraid of storms for I am learning how to sail my ship.”                        ~ Louisa May Alcott

Navigating the waters of life…we leave the safety of the harbor (view last week’s blog Setting Sail) and are now learning to sail our ship. Then a hurricane approaches.               True story!

The angel said, ‘Paul, do not be afraid. You must stand before Caesar. And God has promised you that he will save the lives of everyone sailing with you.’ So men, have courage. I trust in God that everything will happen as his angel told me. But we will crash on an island.” ~ Acts 27:24-26

Am I the only one who sees the irony here? Take courage we will all be saved, but we will crash on an island! Oh, well, in that case, I feel so much better.

Part of learning to navigate the waters of life includes surviving storms. They are coming. You will be interrupted, postponed, shipwrecked.

Great hurtling waves of disappointment followed just seconds later by the absolute euphoric joy and peace of having lived through that last breaker.

So how can we not be afraid? Where do we find the courage to sail through the storm? We call out to and rely on the same God the Apostle Paul trusted.

On the day I called to you, you answered me. You made me strong and brave. ~ Psalm 138:3 NCV

Have you left the harbor? Are you learning to sail your ship? Are you shipwrecked?

Whatever you are navigating call out to God and He will make you brave!

This entry was posted in Bloom Brave, But God, Courage. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Courage in the Storm

  1. Sherrie St. Hilaire says:

    I’m amazed! I keep hearing this message of courage, bravery and audacity everywhere I turn. Before them, however, God had been working this into my heart. When I began to see that this wasn’t a message just for me, that He seems to be speaking across the board, I began to get so excited. The good news is we’ll be saved, the bad news is life is going to require bravery!! Thanks for sharing such an on point word!

    • turnermelisa says:

      Thank you Sherrie for your encouraging words. “Be Brave” has definitely been a continuous message spoken into my life over the last 18 months. I am so excited that I am not alone in this either! I appreciate your taking the time to comment. Bloom Brave!

  2. Pingback: The Truth is… | pollinatinggrace

Leave a Reply

