Mom, is that you?

We have been discussing our unchanging God and His unchanging call. We are chosen by God to tell how His story of redemption is uniquely wrapped up in our own stories.

Today I want to wander off the path a bit and “muck about” in this concept.

…for God’s gifts and his call are irrevocable. ~ Romans 11:29

Irrevocable is a strong word meaning unchangeable. So we know that God has not changed His mind about calling you or I.

For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight. ~ Ephesians 1:4

Wait we are chosen to be blameless?

How can I be blameless in my call? God won’t change His mind about me, but I need to be perfect? What? HELP!

Let me explain. Two weeks ago I sent my children to school like this:

Homecoming Week – Tacky Tourist
(Not pictured are the socks with sandals)

In the same 48 hour period, I also allowed our household to run out of Milk, Butter, and Salt! My husband was out of town at the time. The first morning after He was home again with us and we discovered how difficult breakfast was going to be minus all of the above ingredients my husband said:

“You let our son go to school in a coconut bra and we are out of butter and milk! I don’t think I should ever leave town again.”

His body language was hilarious. He had his hands on his hips. He blew out his breath as the corners of his mouth turned up into a slight smirk, and all the while his eyes told me he adored me. It’s all good.

I am still the wife and mom at this house! My call has not changed just because I have had a supposed lapse of judgment (not that I am admitting one mind you) or forgot to do some simple shopping.

Calling and performance are two very different things. And if being a domestic diva was a requirement to be the Turner’s wife and mom, well I would have been fired years ago!

The same is true with our relationship with God. He called you and me before He redeemed us. Remember what Ephesians 1:4 said above “…before the creation of the world.” I am pretty sure none of us had the ability to be perfect before time began. Our performance or perfection was not a part of the deal He offers. It is God who makes us holy and blameless. And when we make errors, forget duties, or have a lapse in judgment there is forgiveness.

God has chosen you and made you his holy people. He loves you. So you should always clothe yourselves with mercy, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience. Bear with each other, and forgive each other. If someone does wrong to you, forgive that person because the Lord forgave you. Even more than all this, clothe yourself in love. Love is what holds you all together in perfect unity. ~ Colossians 3:12-14 NCV

You and I really are irrevocably called even in our imperfection. We have freedom to separate our performance from our title as a child of God.

I am an imperfect mom, but a fun mom. I am also a good mom!

What are you good at (not perfect) but good at?

Embrace your call and run swiftly when you need forgiveness.

This entry was posted in Chosen to Tell, Courage, God's Unchanging Character, Good Mom Award. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mom, is that you?

  1. blessednhmom says:

    Aaaah . . . it’s as if you knew just how much I needed to hear this today. Thank you for sharing your heart and the encouragement it brings!

Leave a Reply

