Serving Advent

Sami's Manger

This photo is of a Manger craft my daughter made when she was about 4 years old. I asked her at the time why Baby Jesus had red spots and she informed me “Oh, He is Sick!”

I promptly responded “Poor Baby Jesus! Not only does he have to come and save the entire world from their sins, but He also has the pox.”

I do not remember getting to the bottom of why Jesus was sick. Four-year-olds have vivid imaginations is probably the best answer. I do know that it makes me laugh each year as I unwrap it and put it out to display. It is a sweet memory.

This year advent seems aptly summed up in a Baby Jesus with the pox to me. It feels like the traditions and celebrations are becoming obligations and I am wondering what our faith would be like had Jesus felt that way about you and me? I am so grateful that He did not look at His Christmas to do list and say “I am obligated to go and save the world.”

No obligation just deep, deep love and a wish to reconcile our broken and estranged relationship. Not only did Jesus come to give us abundant, eternal life, He did so with a servant’s heart.

…the Son of Man did not come to be served. He came to serve others and to give his life as a ransom for many people. ~ Mark 10:45 NCV

This Advent Season I am challenged to serve. Instead of being obligated to do, to buy, to organize, to entertain, etc. How can I serve those I know and love? How can I celebrate our hope together? How can I show deep, deep love without a hint of obligation?

Dear Lord, Help us now to draw close, that we might await your advent with a servant’s heart.

What Advent Traditions bring you joy? What weighs down your celebration? Talk to me…

 

This entry was posted in Christmas, God's Unchanging Character, Hope, Love, Provision, Redemption, Serve, Truth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

