Dwelling Under Twinkle Lights

IMG_0042

Twinkle lights always make me think of home.

They are comforting. They bring warmth and joy. Twinkle lights remind me of Grandma Edwina. This dear sweet woman went to be with Jesus in July of this year and at her service every grandchild shared how we all felt we were her favorite! She loved like that…big, inclusive, welcoming. The oldest grandson said that being with Grandma “was like coming home”. I remember thinking “Yes, Exactly.” I am actually a step-granddaughter-in-law, but I always felt like I was her favorite when I was with her and I did always feel like I was coming home in her presence. Grandma also had a decorative tree in a pot in her living room with twinkle lights on it all year long. Twinkle lights make me think of home!

As I sit this year underneath the lights of my Christmas tree I feel cozy and as at peace as I can be anywhere in my current state of “Oh My Goodness Are We There Yet?”

But this is exactly the point! Christ came to dwell with man. To be at home in our hearts. God has always wanted to be in the midst of His people.

“Then the Tabernacle, carried by the Levites, will set out from the middle of the camp…” ~ Numbers 2:17 NIV

The tabernacle or the tent of meeting, as in meeting place with God was to be set up in the middle of the camp. This great nation of Israelites who had been rescued from slavery and was now wandering the desert was instructed to place the tabernacle at the center of their daily lives.

“The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son, and they will call him Immanuel” (which means “God with us”). ~ Matthew 1:23 NIV

Then we have the very essence of Christmas…Christ coming to literally, in the flesh, dwell with us.

Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in your midst? ~ I Corinthians 3:16 NIV

He came not just to dwell with us but in us! “Don’t you know that you are God’s temple?” Christ comes to us at Christmas that He might dwell with us for all time!

He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress; My God, in Him I will trust.” ~ Psalm 91:1-2 NKJV

Lord, let us not forget that you are our dwelling place. May we abide in the shelter of Your Presence and feel at home underneath Your Shadow.

 

This entry was posted in Christmas, God's Unchanging Character, Hope, Love, Memories, Provision, Redemption and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

